Fast Pitch Softball Forum - Fastpitch Softball  

Go Back   Fast Pitch Softball Forum - Fastpitch Softball > Fastpitch Forums > The Umpires Room

The Umpires Room Was it a bad call? Have a question on the rules? Post them here and get the answer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2013, 09:42 PM   #1
Umpire
Full Access Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Hampshire,seacoast
Age: 27
Posts: 80
Default Butted ball the ball hits bat twice

What would you normal call this? there a couple ruling she out or if judgement umpire believes it was unintentional its a live ball.

I had that call last night it was rec i just didn't want to call the girl out. Which i didn't but i believe i blew that call still.
Umpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 10:26 AM   #2
eddieq
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Default

ASA, right? Take a look at R/S 24.

If they are in the batter's box with the bat in their hands, it's simply a foul ball. If they are out of the box (one foot completely on the ground outside the lines of the box), they are out.

Then if they've dropped the bat and it hits it are entirely other situations, but I assume you mean they bunted and the ball bounced back up and was hit again, or something.

As the R/S said, if in doubt, don't guess the out, call it a foul ball.
eddieq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 10:28 PM   #3
Umpire
Full Access Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Hampshire,seacoast
Age: 27
Posts: 80
Default

nope its babe ruth softball fastpitch but i am sure its pretty much same rule.

Also why we at it. let state that the runner miss first base than she goes and touches the bag at first and leads off. So they now do an appeal play what would the ruling be?
Umpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 11:06 PM   #4
eddieq
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Default

Help me understand your second scenario:

Batter becomes the batter-runner and misses first base, but then returns to first before it's appealed? She has legally retouched. Or did you mean something else?
eddieq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 08:57 PM   #5
Umpire
Full Access Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Hampshire,seacoast
Age: 27
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieq View Post
Help me understand your second scenario:

Batter becomes the batter-runner and misses first base, but then returns to first before it's appealed? She has legally retouched. Or did you mean something else?
You got it i just wanted to see that one. That is what i figured
Umpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.